About the Pillars of Islam

You dont have to be a believer, and we totally agree with Saint Thomas Aquinas when he says "Beware of the man of one book", but if you are going to Fez, which is considered the spiritual centre of Morocco, wont hurt having a few notions of Islam, and you're knowledge will be appreciated everywhere and you'll be regarded more as a person than as a regular tourist.

The Five Pillars of Islam (Arabic: أركان الإسلام) is the term given to the five duties incumbent on every Muslim. These duties are:

Shahadah (profession of faith)

All Muslims must know and believe this sentence:“There is no god but Allah,and Muhammad is his Prophet."

Salat (ritual prayer)

The requirement to pray five times a day at fixed times. The time of day to pray are at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, at night. Each salat is performed facing towards the Kaaba in Mecca

Zakat (alms giving)

The practice of charitable giving by Muslims based on accumulated wealth, and is obligatory for all who are able to do so. It is considered to be a personal responsibility for Muslims to ease economic hardship for others and eliminate inequality.

Sawm (fasting during Ramadan)

Ritual fasting is an obligatory act during the month of Ramadan. Muslims must abstain from food, drink, and sexual intercourse from dawn to dusk during this month, and are to be especially mindful of other sins.

Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca)

The Hajj is a pilgrimage that occurs during the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah to the holy city of Mecca, and derives from an ancient Arab practice. Every able-bodied Muslim is obliged to make the pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their lifetime if they can afford it.

These five practices are essential to Sunni Islam. Shi'a Muslims subscribe to eight ritual practices which substantially overlap with the Five Pillars.

Navigation Menu